19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY 12

Standard

19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY 12 19-somethin_sidebar_button

https://mcclendonvilla.wordpress.com/september-19-somethin-challenge/

***

Q – When did you first have a microwave in your home? Were you afraid it would make you sick, or did you embrace this ‘new’ technology?

I think when I was in maybe Jr. High School (when I was taking homemaking class), we took a field trip to a place called the extension center? Not sure, really, but they demonstrated a microwave oven for us. We were very impressed.

Many years later, say around the early 80s, we did get a microwave. It was one of the huge ones. I can’t remember us going to buy it, or if it was a Christmas gift, or what, but we had it a long time. I don’t think I was scared it would make us sick, even though the whole idea of it was strange. I liked that it cooked food really fast.

There was one house we rented, where it didn’t come with appliances. We had our own refrigerator, but no stove. All we had was the big microwave to cook with. We cooked just about everything in there, and it turned out good. We also had one of those popcorn making appliances, with the big yellow dome, and the wire arm that spun around…oh yeah, it was called the Stir Crazy. haha…we cooked on that, too. We cooked fried eggs, scrambled eggs, and made pancakes on it. We took the spinning around arm off though, first. 🙂

Well, that big old microwave lasted a long time, then we lost it! When we moved, we had all our things put in storage for awhile. My husband got stationed in Korea for a year, so the kids and I went back to stay with family. When we moved again, to get our things back, a lot of stuff was missing. The microwave was no more. We did get other ones over the years, but they were smaller ones, and we had an actual stove to cook on by then. 🙂

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

11 responses »

  1. Ah yes, those huge microwaves that took up all that valuable counter space – we had one too! They don’t make them like that any more (for which I am quite thankful!) 🙂

  2. You were about a decade ahead of me. My mom didn’t get our first microwave until the mid-90’s. I don’t remember when we got our first washing machine but I remember my grandma scrubbing clothes with a board and a bucket of water and then put it out to the porch to dry.

    • It’s funny to think back to a time when microwaves were not a regular part of the kitchen. We don’t use ours a whole lot, just a few things that need heating now and again. Yes, the old rubbing board. I used one of those for awhile too, when we didn’t have a washer. Then hung clothes out on the clothesline to dry. My mom had an old wringer washer. I remember helping put the clothes through and turning the crank! 😉

      • I’ve never seen a wringer before, only in museum. The women in my family were incredibly strong. They wrung the clothes by hand, like a towel. Yeah, it’s sure fun to think on those times when we had to heat everything by oven or a stove and now, we can’t live without a microwave. 😀

      • It is a hard job to wring wet clothes out by hand, especially the thick things like towels and jeans. Thankfully we didn’t have to do it for very long. I’d take it all to a laundromat sometimes, too. We sure have it easy now, not like in the pioneer days. 🙂

  3. My granny had a wringer washer and this was probably in the mid-1970s. David met my granny a long time before he met me. She was a customer at his daddy’s Western Auto Store. David asked her why she wanted a wringer washer when the newer ones were less work. She said that she wanted what she wanted and to mind his own business. haha That’s my granny. 🙂

    I’m sorry that some of the things that you had in storage disappeared. I know how that is. I’m glad that you were able to get another one and also had a stove by then. Stove cooking is more fun anyway. 🙂

    Thanks for playing along. Have a great day!

    • That’s funny what your granny told David! … Yeah, quite a few things were gone from that household storage shipment. Our bed was gone too. Funny thing, we got some other people’s things mixed in with ours. I have no idea how it all got mixed up. … yes, stove cooking is lots easier and to me, tastes better than cooked in a microwave. 🙂
      Oh, I wanted to thank you for giving me a couple of ideas for other blog posts…the one about the jobs I could make a list of, and also all the music concerts I’ve been to. 🙂

      • Granny was a character for sure. She didn’t mince words, was blunt, and to the point. She got ahold of him a few years later, too, after we were married. She sent him to the store for “fat meat”. She told him, “Don’t you tell me you don’t know what fat meat is, boy!” He didn’t have a clue what she meant by fat meat. Thankfully, the butcher in town knew her and knew what she might want. David bought some of everything, just to be on the safe side.
        I agree with you about the taste of food from the stove vs the microwave. It also seems to stay hot longer from the stove.
        You’re welcome. I am glad to have provided some prompts for you. 🙂
        Have a blessed day.

Leave a Reply

