19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY 9

Standard

19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY 9 19-somethin_sidebar_button

https://mcclendonvilla.wordpress.com/september-19-somethin-challenge/

To join in the challenge, click the above link to see information. 🙂

***

Here we are on day 9 of the challenge. I missed the last two days, so here are the questions. I really didn’t have much of an answer for either of them, so didn’t make a whole post with a one word answer.

Day 7 question – Did you ever get hurt trying to imitate someone else? What happened? 

No, I never imitated any actions from someone else that might get me hurt from doing it. I can’t think of anything.

Day 8 question – What celebrity death upset you the most when you were young?

I don’t remember any celebrities who died, when I was younger.

***

Now we are caught up with today’s question.

Q – day 9 – What was your favorite celebrity hairstyle when you were a teenager? Did you imitate their hairstyle?

I’ve had lots of different hairstyles over the years. I think it must have started at about age 2 or 3, when my mom gave me a permanent to make my hair all curly, like Shirley Temple. It never turned out right, so I just had frizzy, curls. I hated them. I wanted long straight hair. I wanted to wear it in a ponytail.

Later, in my teens, I was always compared to looking like Cher. Finally, I got to wear my hair long and straight, sometimes with bangs, sometimes parted down the middle. I also started dying my brown hair black. My hair was always straight, but still I ironed it with the iron on the ironing board a lot.

Anyway, there have been many more that I tried to copy. That was later on, not when I was a teenager. And now, I still go back to my favorite hairstyle…long, straight, and black. 🙂

Here’s a picture someone drew of me on a piece of paper, and a photo of me when I was probably 19. 🙂

img_3913

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

13 responses »

  1. Peter Pan (flying) I was very young and Daddy’s big tool box seemed a tall launching pad, and laundry detergent sparkling fairy dust! Happily I didn’t hurt myself, but I thought I might have flown for a second. 😉

    Pete Duel — Alias Smith and Jones (years later)

    Dorothy Hamill and that groundbreaking blow dry cut (a few years later still)

    Hugs!

    • Aww I love your answers, Teagan! Glad you weren’t hurt when you flew like Peter Pan! I do remember the Dorothy Hamill hair-do! It was really cute! 🙂 Thanks for your thoughts on these questions! hugs!!!

  2. Cool post! I love the pic. I’d love it if I could get my hair straight. Hair dye keeps it black, and when I straighten it to get a haircut, it’s long, but it’s rarely straight (sigh). 🙂

    • Thanks, Michelle! Sometimes I think I’ll stop dying my hair, then I take a look in the mirror, and go right back to my box of hair dye. From your photo, I think your curls are lovely! I did try some perms later on, which I liked. 🙂

  3. Hair is a funny thing. When I lived in Saskatchewan, it was straight, but since moving to BC it curls the second it gets damp, but of course only enough to be annoying. I now own a straightening iron – never thought I’d see the day!

  4. I wondered where you were. Glad to have you back. 🙂

    Those are very nice photos/drawings. Straight hair suits some folks. I think that I would look funny with straight hair. Our daughters straighten their hair on a regular basis.

    When I was younger, my naturally curly hair frustrated me to no end. I couldn’t get it to do the Farrah thing. I couldn’t get it to do “flybacks”. I couldn’t get it to even be balanced. Whatever one side of my hair did, the other side did the complete opposite. I spent many a school morning fussing at my curly locks and wishing for straight hair. While still somewhat curly, it isn’t nearly as aggressive as it used to be. I almost always wear it in a ponytail these days to control it. These days, I am very thankful to still have hair, curly or not. Six years ago, I lost a lot of it. I am very thankful that it came back.

    Thanks for participating in the challenge. Have a blessed weekend!

    • I don’t like skipping any days of questions, but I really couldn’t think of anything for those days. Now, since I read other’s posts, I do remember some celebrity deaths, like Kennedy, and then other’s later on. Guess I didn’t really think of them as celebrities, like movie stars or something. Oh, well… glad to be answering some more questions! Fun 🙂

      • I understand. I’m having trouble with some of the questions myself and I’m the one that came up with them. 🙂 Maybe I should use the word “famous” instead of “celebrity” on the questions. Do you think that would make the questions more inclusive?
        I’m glad to have you along for this trip down memory lane. 🙂 Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

