19 Somethin’ September Challenge – Day 5

Standard

19 Somethin’ September Challenge – Day 5 19-somethin_sidebar_button

https://mcclendonvilla.wordpress.com/september-19-somethin-challenge/

***

Q – Today is labor day in the United States. How old were you when you got your first job? What was that job? did you enjoy it?

I was probably 17/18 when I got my first job where I got a paycheck. I was still in high school, and taking office education. We were able to go to school half a day, and get a job and work half a day, which counted in our studies.

This job was at a place called Retco Manufacturing. I’m not sure what the minimum wage was back in 1967/68, but might have been $1.25 an hour? They made irrigation equipment back in the building. I worked in the office, though. I did typing mostly. There was an office lady that showed me what to do. Actually there wasn’t a lot, so we both ate snacks, and read magazines quite a bit. 🙂 It was a fun job.

I do remember what I bought with my very first paycheck! I went to Sears and bought a pretty, real leather handbag/purse. I’d seen it and wanted it for awhile. Can’t remember how much it cost, though. I bought a white, long-sleeved blouse, with front ruffles, too. The blouse is long gone, but I actually still have that purse! It’s a little worse for wear these days, and I keep some sewing supplies in it now. Here’s a picture I took of it just this afternoon. (surprised I could find it so easily, but it was right there where I knew it would be.)

img_3877 img_3878

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

9 responses »

  1. How cool that you still have the first handbag that you bought with your first paycheck. I am into bags, too. 🙂 The first one that I remember having was a brown suede bag with fringes. I was just a little girl when I had that one and ended up leaving it on the city bus one day after we’d come home from town. My heart was broken when I never saw it again. I loved that bag! One of the easiest ways to get me to buy something is to offer a free tote bag with it. haha

    Your purse looks very nice. I am happy that you still have it. 🙂

    Thanks for joining in the challenge. I enjoy reading your posts. Have a great week!

    • Thanks, Suzanne! I do like purses, and usually the bigger the better. And, for me, tote bags are a must have! So traumatic to have left your favorite purse on the bus like that.

      • Yes, it was. I was just a kid and thought it would be there when we got back on the bus again. It was most upsetting to find that it wasn’t and that someone else had my pocketbook. I sure hope they enjoyed it. It was great. I have no clue what “treasures” I had in it. I learned my lesson and never took another purse on the bus again.
        Aside from this first purse that you bought, what is your favorite purse or tote bag? My Eeyore bags are my favorites. 🙂

      • I don’t think I’ve ever lost my purse anywhere. Wish someone would have turned yours in to a lost and found place at the bus station. … Most of my totes come from yard sales, all kinds. I have one I like that has kind of an African motif with oranges and blacks and giraffes printed on it. My favorite, though, was one a good friend made for me out of old blue jeans. He did the handle and a belt from leathercraft he’d put my name on it. My purse I’ve been using for awhile now is I think a travel purse? Called LUG, with shoulder strap, and it holds a lot of stuff, though isn’t terribly big. 🙂 What’s yours?

  2. It is cool that you still have it. I have no idea what I purchased with my first paycheck. I put most of it in the bank.

Leave a Reply

