DEAR DIARY – APRIL 11 – APRIL 20 , 1961

Standard

DEAR DIARY – APRIL 11 – APRIL 20, 1961

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

These are the things I wrote in my diary, when I was 10 years old. 🙂

***

Dear Diary,

4/11/61 – I went to school. When I came home I played. then I watched tv. M & O (parents friends) came over. Then I went to bed.

4/12/61 – I did not go to school. I had the cramp. I stayed in bed all day. After dinner we went to the store. When I came home I played. I felt better. I played out side. Then I watched tv. Then I went to bed.

4/13/61 – I went to school. I asked the teacher what they did yesterday. They went walking. They went to C’s house. (classmate) They saw all their dogs and chickens. Then they went over to E’s house. (classmate) C rode his pony. When I came home I played. I watched tv. Then I went to bed.  (for some reason I think I must have gotten the days wrong in here. I definitely remember going on this outing with the class…or maybe we went another time that I went?)

4/14/61 – I went to school. When I came home we went to B’s (my aunt’s sister-in-law?) When we came back, J (cousin) came over. She spent the night. Then we played. A sand storm. (guess we had a sand storm that day. Not unusual in the spring!) We went over to N’s (aunt). When we came home we went to bed.

4/15/61 – I did not go to school. J and I played all day. When she went home we went to Grannys house. We ate supper over there. When we went home we went to bed.

4/16/61 – I did not go to school I played with J (cousin). We went over to N’s (aunt) We went riding. When I came home I played. Then I watched tv. Then I went to bed.

4/17/61 – I went to school. After school I went to play with B (a classmate- I remember we had fun playing paper dolls). When I came home I played Then I watched tv and went to bed.

4/18/61 – I went to school. I rode my bicycle to school. When I came home I played outside. Then I watched tv. Then I went to bed.

4/19/61 – I went to school. At music I learned a new song. When I went home I got my report card. When I got home I played all day. Then I went to bed.

4/20/61 – I went to school. When I got home I played. Then I went to J’s house. When I came home I went to the dime store. When I came home we went to Grand pas. P (sister) tried to ride a little bicycle. When I came home we showed a fim (home movie film). Then I went to bed.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

4 responses »

    • That’s right, Michelle. We played all kinds of things from our imagination. We also didn’t have our time scheduled so full with must do activities like kids today seem to have.

  1. Love the “real” look back. Perfect representation of any little girls daily fun and struggles. Authors try to capture the same but they embellish so much the authenticity is lost. Thanks so much for sharing 💕.

    • Hey, Kelly! Don’t know how others childhoods went, but seems back then we had plenty of time for friends and running around playing. In fiction writing, I think they want it to sound especially good or bad, so seem to forget how it was in real life. A lot of it was just mundane day to day things, you know, go to school, play, and the occasional trip to the store or a vacation. 🙂 Love hearing your thoughts! xo

Leave a Reply

