FAIRY HOUSES

Standard

FAIRY HOUSES

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Have you heard of Fairy Houses? They are fun to make. People put them in their gardens or by a tree, and hope that a fairy will take up residence. I’ve heard that if you have a fairy living in the house, she will bring good luck to you.

The houses are usually small, using elements of wood, leaves, flowers, vines, rocks, and moss…or whatever earthy type materials you’d like. Shells can be incorporated to indicate a water feature.

Decorating the house is a lot of fun. Use your imagination to create something simple or fanciful, out of found, or purchased items. For mine, I used things I found around the house and yard. I used some old jewelry pieces for a bit of sparkle, some beads, marbles, and twigs, and painted the wooden frame. I’d found the wood piece at a yard sale. Use as many (or few) embellishments as you’d like, until you have it like you want it. Then place the house somewhere in your yard. (actually I did not do this…I didn’t want it to get ruined by the weather…so, it is sitting with my houseplants!) 

Now, whether you really believe there are fairies or not, the fairy house makes for some creative fun for you to try!

***

Update: I wrote this as a piece for the A to Z Blog Challenge back in 2014. I’ve made a Fairy Garden, also, just in the past couple of weeks. I think it turned out pretty cute. My grand-son was visiting, and the ‘fairies and gnomes’ left him an envelope with a bit of money in it every morning. He was so excited to go outside and find it. I’m pretty sure he knows it is us playing the role of the fairies and gnomes, but he is smart. He won’t ruin the chance to cash in, by admitting he knows. haha!

Here’s a photo of the most recent one.

IMG_3390

***

Thank you for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

***

4 responses »

  1. Yes! Yours is super pretty! I bought my mother some fairy folk garden stuff for Mother’s Day and while she was delighted and went on about it, I still haven’t seen it in her garden. I have asked. Apparently, one must perfect one’s fairy garden before one can photograph it! 🙂

  2. I’ve been debating about remodeling a hole in a wall at the gym (down at the floor) to be the entrance to a fairie house. My trainer has kids as young as 6 and I suspect some of them would get a kick out of it.

Leave a Reply

