AM I CLUMSY or WHAT? – for Wordle # 117, July 11, 2016

Standard

AM I CLUMSY or WHAT? for Wordle # 117, July 11, 2016

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2016/07/11/wordle-117-july-11th-2016/

We are to use at least 10 of the prompt words to write a story or poem, or use artwork. The words this week are: itch, turnstile, narrow, bribe, shiver, plush, benign, destruct, chamber, ambisinister (clumsy or unskillful with both hands), ephemerid (an insect – mayfly)

***

IMG_3220

photo from pixabay

***

AM I CLUMSY or WHAT?

I know I’m clumsy, but really, do they have to call it ambisinister? That sounds so bad, like it’s sinister to be clumsy. hahaha…Not so much sinister to anyone but me.

Take the other day. I was minding my own business, going shopping. I had to actually take the grimy subway to get to the shop I wanted to visit. Well, I doubt they ever sanitize those turnstiles you have to go through. I tried pushing my way through without touching anything, but ended up falling through the gate. I skinned my palms as I landed.

As soon as I could, I washed my hands, but it didn’t help. By that time the itching had started. I was shivering, and burning up with a fever, too. It felt like a thousand ephemerids were crawling under my skin.

I went to see my doctor, who said it was just a benign rash, and it would go away in a few days. I left the doctor’s chamber and walked down the narrow hallway. I’d had to bribe him for some medicines to alleviate my symptoms.

I told him I’d buy his little girl a plush toy animal, when I was able to go shopping again. That was why I was going shopping in the first place. My little girl wanted the same cute toy. I had to delay her happiness, all because I had such a day of destruction.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

 

6 responses »

  1. Oh, this story is a striking depiction of everyday life. I really dread the fact we live in a world where doctors often just tell us to brush off our ills and pains :/

    • I know…it’s either one way or another. They dismiss our concerns, or they over prescribe un-needed meds. And then the insurance companies have to get into it. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

