TAKE A CHANCE – JUST DANCE

Standard

TAKE A CHANCE – JUST DANCE

This is for the Wordle # 116 challenge. We are to take at least 10 words, from a given list, to create a story, poem, or art, using these words.

The words list this time is as follows: Starch, Trample, Protean (means versatile), Walnut, Strop (a strip of flexible material for sharpening razors, etc.), Staccato, Waltz, Churn, Wallflower, Dummy, Fireworks, Proboscis (nose).

Find out more about the challenge, see other’s entries, and join in the fun by clicking the link below:

cropped-grunge-landscape2

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2016/07/04/wordle-116-july-4th-2016/

***

IMG_3184

photo from Pixabay

TAKE A CHANCE – JUST DANCE

So, it was the fourth of July, and I happened to get invited to a party. Don’t ask me why. I’m not a very protean kind of person. Most everyone knows I churn with anxiety at public functions. You can count on me to be lurking on the edges of the crowd, being my usual wallflower self. You know, just observing the attendees who are having all kinds of fun. Sometimes, it’s funny to watch them trample over each other when they’ve had too much spiked punch and rum cake.

I told myself to stop being a dummy, just go enjoy myself for a change. Well, after my pep talk, I stiffened my resolve like starch, put on my best party dress, and high-heels, and stuck my proboscis up in the air like I was royalty. Marching into the ballroom, my stiletto heels were clicking a staccato  rhythm, which caused everyone to turn their heads toward me. I gulped, and then smiled. I was shaking inside, but they didn’t have to know that.

After a few minutes, a nice fellow asked me to join him in a dance. It was the waltz, thank goodness, as that’s the only kind I know how to do. The mirror ball on the ceiling caught the colored lights in just the perfect way to shine pretty fireworks onto my walnut colored hair, which thankfully I’d washed just this morning.

All in all, I had a great time, in spite of my need to calm my nerves. Next time will be easier, I’m sure.

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

11 responses »

    • Thank you so much, Diana! When I first see the list on these challenges, I’m like, what on Earth, how can I put them together? Somehow I make it into some kind of story. Guess that’s the challenge of it! 🙂

  1. Great job using the wordle! MLMM wordles are usually quite the challenge – an odd assortment of words that one normally wouldn’t put together – Yves (the host of the blog and that prompt) has a great mind for creativity – and so it’s always a great way to stop and think. Glad you had a good time with the prompt 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I do like trying to come up with something using the random words. I also take cross-word puzzle answer words to make up a story about, using them. It’s just for fun. It is a challenge to do, though, and I appreciate the MLMM prompts! 🙂

      • fun is fun 😉 and it’s a good way to work the brain – and active brain is a stimulated brain and it helps keep it all charged and young! 🙂

  2. Hah! That was so well done! Good for you!
    My friend once wrote a line about the women’s heels and clucking tongues — your stiletto-staccato line reminded me of that, and now I’m sad I can’t remember her line.

Leave a Reply

