THE LOST – for Recycled Book READING CHALLENGE

Standard

THE LOST – FOR RECYCLED BOOK READING CHALLENGE

This is the book I read for the challenge in the month of June. We are asked to take one of our ‘to be read’ books that we have saved to read, and actually read them. I know I have so many books that I’ve bought at book sales, and they just sit there while the stack gets higher. This challenge is good, because I know I want to read them, and the time has come to do so.

To find out more about the challenge, and to participate, check out the information in the link below:

Recycled Book Reading Challenge!

IMG_3118 IMG_3119 IMG_3120

This book is one that may not exactly be recycled, as it is a new book, but I did get it on sale. It’s been on my to read list for awhile, so I chose it to read this past month.

This is the first book I’ve read by the author, Sarah Beth Durst, and hopefully won’t be the last, as this one was really good. There are two more to the series, but I’m having a hard time finding them. I am glad I found this one!

Here’s a short explanation of the story told here:

Lauren is the main character, who is just trying to take a few days away from her responsibilities at home. She needs time to think, and process the information that her mother is probably dying of cancer. She feels guilty about thinking of herself at this stressful time, but needs to get away for a day or two.

She goes for a drive, out along a long, lonely, and mostly deserted desert highway. Lost in thought, she suddenly finds herself driving into a huge dust storm. The last road sign she saw was for a town named Lost, and she hopes she can make it to the town. However, she gets lost, and a mysterious man comes by and takes her to the town.

Everyone in the town is strange. There are stores, businesses, hotels, diners, and people are just wandering around, scavenging through piles of trash. She goes into the diner, where she meets some of the people, but something is not right with them, though they seem friendly…at first.

The book/story is about her trying to find out what’s going on in this Lost town, and how to get back to her regular life. There is the man who saved her, a little girl, and a teenage girl, who help her navigate this strange place. There is also a person called the Missing Man, who everyone believes can help them find their way back to their real homes, and a challenge that everyone has to find what they’ve lost, before that can happen.

Now, I want to read the other two books in the series, “The Missing”, and “The Found”, but seems they are missing, and are not to be found! They are lost, I suppose. If I ever find them, I’ll be sure to get them!

I’d say go ahead and read this first one, because it is so good, you keep turning the pages to find out what happens next!

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

