REMEMBER SPUDS MacKENZIE?

Standard

REMEMBER SPUDS MacKENZIE?

Do you remember the commercials for Bud Light Beer, back in the late 1980s? They had a Bull Terrier, named Spuds MacKenzie on several television ads. It was a cute advertising campaign, at the time, and made their debut at the 1987 Super Bowl XXI.

Later on there was controversy about the use of the dog. One complaint was that the dog was portrayed as being a male, when in fact it was a female. Another complaint was that they were said to be promoting drinking to young people, by using the cute dog for it’s advertising. So, the Anheuser-Busch brewing company decided to cancel the ads, in 1989.

The thing is, while at the height of popularity, Spuds MacKenzie, and his/her entourage would make public appearances around the country. We, my daughters and their friend got to go see them in person. It was while we were at Ft. Hood. We got there, waited around the open air area with a large crowd, and pretty soon, Spuds arrived…in a long white limousine, with his group, which included the pretty models of the day. They were all very nice, and even signed autographed posters, and posed for photos.

Just thought I’d show you a few photos from the day we met a famous dog. πŸ™‚

***

IMG_3036Β IMG_3035

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

Β© 2016 BS

16 responses »

  1. Awesome! I totally remember Spuds!! Though I never had the pleasure in person. I did however, meet Elsie the Borden’s milk cow. I took Amber to see her at the South Plains Mall so it had to be the late 80’s very early 90’s. I believe she passed away shortly thereafter and there was controversy whether to replace her. Wow! Look at the memories you stirred up by sharing yours! Love reading your post and getting lost further in thought Barbara. Thank you!!

    • Thanks, Kelly! That’s neat that you took Amber to see Elsie the Cow! I remember she was from Borden’s milk, right? There was Elsie, and Elmer, and a little one, can’t remember his name though. It is fun to remember all this stuff! Glad you are enjoying it. πŸ™‚ At least the kids weren’t afraid of Spuds and Elsie, but once we took them to the mall to see I think it was Scooby Doo? They were terrified of the big headed costumed person! haha

    • Hi, Michelle! No, I don’t think he gave out his paw print autograph. The lady models did though, on the poster. I need to find that poster! My daughter reminded me that the girls were called the Spudettes, and one was named Sandy. πŸ™‚

  2. Haha, yes, because as soon as I read that, I heard Funky Cold Medina in my head! lol “Spuds McKenzie and Alex from Stroh’s…” lol
    I loved them both, and the Noid from Domino’s and later the Taco Bell dog, and oh that lil geico πŸ™‚ I think I just like mascots overall!
    That’s very nice you had that moment in time πŸ™‚

  3. There are probably still bars and package stores that have a Spuds McKenzie neon sign.

    I always hear stories about people seeing dogs in movies or on TV and deciding their lives would be incomplete without a dog like that, and not doing any research on the breed. We know a man in his eighties who decided he wanted a Jack Russell terrier, not realizing they have a lot of energy and like to run after squirrels (they’re terriers, it’s what they do), not exactly the best pet for an older man. And I feel really badly about the Dalmatians that were adopted by families with small kids not realizing the care they need.

    • Hi, John! Yes, there was a lot of merchandise sold for Spuds. I agree, that people shouldn’t just go out and get an animal without learning what temperment they may have. Some are not good with kids, or may need lots of space to run. I think that’s why the Basset Hound always suited me…not real energetic! πŸ˜‰

      • Like the guy who got the Jack Russell terrier, who saw Eddie on “Frasier” and thought “that’s a nice little dog… think I’ll get one.” Now occasionally it isn’t bad: my brother found a Golden Retriever wandering around a parking lot and took him home, and the dog was wonderful with his sons. But that’s more the exception than the rule.

      • I’m glad the Golden Retriever worked out as a good match for your brother. πŸ™‚ I know that Jack Russell was so cute on the TV show, but I hear they have a lot of energy. And now, th kids are watching Paw Patrol, with all the cute puppies. My grand-daughter loves the Dalmatian on there.

Leave a Reply

