THE TIME MACHINE – RECYCLED BOOK READING CHALLENGE

Standard

THE TIME MACHINE – RECYCLED BOOK READING CHALLENGE

I’m a few days late posting my book review, as we usually do this on the 1st of each month. But, here we go, anyway! Enjoy!

***

The book I read for this month was, “The Time Machine”, by H. G. Wells. It was first written and published in 1895.

I’m pretty sure I got this book from the local library book sale. I get most of my used books there, as they have really good prices for them…50 cents for paperbacks, and $1.00 for hardback.

I actually had never read this book before. I’d seen the movies made from it, and both of the ones I saw were good. I preferred the one made in 1960 best. It starred Rod Taylor, Alan Young, and Yvette Mimieux.

IMG_2865 IMG_2910 IMG_2909

The subject of the book is of course a time machine. A scientist had invented a machine that would be able to transport a person to a different time in history, either past or future. He gave a presentation to his fellow colleagues, but they were skeptical of the whole thing. After the meeting, the Time Traveler, as the main character was called in the book, tried out his machine.

As the time for their next meeting commenced, everyone showed up except for the host. Then, just before everyone was getting ready to leave, he shows up, all bedraggled. He told them he’d time traveled to the future, and he’d tell them all about it.

This is the main part of the book, his telling of his adventures in the future time. He was in the same location as they were in now, just way into the future. He’d met a strange group of people, called Eloi, and their enemies, called the Morlocks. At one point, he even loses his time machine, and has to find it before he can return to the present time.

He is befriended by a sweet girl Eloi, named Weena, who shows him around, and he wants to bring her back with him. It’s all very interesting how he deals with the world of the future, that is so different.

I would recommend reading this book.

***

That brings me to the name of my blog…’teleportingweena’. 🙂 I chose it because I love the story of the Time Machine, and the girl, Weena. It is about time travel, and you never know exactly where you’ll land, or what you’ll see. Just like the vision I had when I started this blog. Also, our tabby cat was named Rowena, and we called her Weena. I’m convinced she could teleport herself to other dimensions. Sound kind of wacky, I know, but cats are mysterious, so you never quite know for sure. 🙂

***

I did read the definitions of ‘time travel’ and ‘teleportation’. Here’s what I understood from that: Time Travel (a time machine) will send you through time…past or future. Teleportation (no machine), moves you to a different location in the present time.

Have you ever been teleported somewhere? I think I have. 🙂

***

This is for Mliae’s “Recycled Book Reading Challenge”. Find out how to join in by clicking below:

Recycled Book Reading Challenge!

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

18 responses »

    • Thanks, Teagan! I know I have a ton of used books just stacked up waiting to be read. This challenge works great at getting me to actually pick one to read each month. Feel free to join in … the explanation page is in the link above! 🙂 xo

  1. I had to read this book I believe in the 5th or 6th grade..So with that being said I really didn’t read “read” it lol you know something the teacher tells you to read and well it can’t be any good ( I am speaking of this one teacher, not all)..This teacher did teach me things like keeping track of stocks I picked the one my grandfather worked for many years northrop they made the stealth bomber and omg so much more and the stories he told me will forever be kept in my heart safe!!!….
    But I did read it but I think my mind wasn’t open enough to understand it like I should have or maybe just didn’t understand the concept of the book…
    Since growing up I have read it many moons ago so I would like to read it again..I did see a movie on it not sure if it was the older one or the new one..but again I didn’t get a chance to watch it all just a piece here and there due to taking care of my dad when he was bad off at that time..
    But from what I did see I loved it and want to read the book and watch the movies all in one weekend …
    My plan when I get better and I think we have talked about this is going to the library and get my hands on some books (any suggestions gurl???) there is nothing like a good book to take you away..The smell of the library is therapy all that knowledge in one place ugg I miss …It’s like going to a real record store and the smell of vinyl and looking for hours at all those records…HEAVEN ….I am not found of new tech lol..I mean I am but..just good memories I guess gurl…
    A good book can take you to the places in the book… : )
    I think I believe in that sort of things since science has come so far and they do more than they will ever say….But I have felt like I have been to a place before or a different time and place…I believe it is possible and plausible …
    Now call me crazy …It’s ok …I do not mind at all….
    Huggggggggs
    Suzette

    • I know what you mean, when you ‘have’ to read a certain book for class, then comes the discussion of it. There’s a word for that which I can’t think of right now, for tearing the book apart to find what the author ‘really’ meant. I hated doing that, and made me not like the book. I mean, surely all authors don’t have some secret hidden message in what they wrote about. Most probably just figure it’s a good story. Leave it at that and enjoy it, you know. 😉 … I hope you can get out one of these days to visit a local library. They have changed since the days I was a kid. I do remember (I think) that the Greenville TX library was a good one back then. Oh, yes, the smell of the libraries…something about the scent of old/and new books, you go ahhh! 🙂 Hope your week is lovely, Suzette! ❤

      • Yes you nailed it gurl!!!..
        Oh I hope so too gurl and I will..thank you.. : ) Oh yes Greenville has changed so much it is getting so big and growing as I type this more stores and shops and food..They have been redoing downtown and it is looking nice they have nice lil wine places and shops it is changing ..that is another thing I want to do is wine tasting downtown with cheese and things look around at the mom and pops stores..thrift stores too…I love the smell of magazines too hahah but books there is nothing like that smell..old and new alike I hear that…
        Well how was your Monday?? did it treat you well?? I hope so…
        Hugggggs
        Suzette

    • Oh, I’ll bet Greenville has changed a lot over the years. It was a great little town when were were there back in the 70s, so I’m glad it is still adding more shops and things. My husband worked for the S.W.Bell Telephone Company while we lived there. If I remember correctly, I worked for the S & H Green Stamp store…haha that’s a long time ago, but I enjoyed it. … Yes, Monday was pretty good, even though we didn’t do much of anything. Hope you had a good day, too. I hope y’all aren’t getting too much of that flooding rain. My sister in law lives in Paris, and they are soaked! … Hugs for you xo

  2. I liked that book very much, and have long wanted a teleporter. I never questioned your name. I bet a lot of people have no idea. Probably we go other places, beyond books, but I want to be consciously choosing and completely awake in my shared experience 🙂

    • Yes, the Morlocks were creepy. I found that there were different portrayals of them between the book and the movies. Actually there were a lot of differences in the whole story. I liked them all, though.

      • Interesting. I have not read the book but I know many times I have an image in my mind or there is an illustration in a book that depicts a character and then when I see it in the movies it is different. It is interesting how we can imagine what something looks like from reading about it. 🙂

      • It sure is, Deborah! Sometimes I wonder if the screenwriter or casting director has even read a book before turning it into a movie, as the characters looks don’t match at all. I’d much rather read a book before seeing the movie of it. It’s interesting, too how everyone’s mental image of a character can be so different. 🙂

Leave a Reply

