CEE’S FUN FOTO CHALLENGE – ARCHITECTURE

Standard

CEE’S FUN FOTO CHALLENGE – ARCHITECTURE untitled

This week’s subject of Cee’s Fun Foto challenge is architecture. We are to show photos of interesting buildings, etc.

Find out more about this weekly challenge, join in the fun, and see other entries, by clicking below:

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Architecture

***

Here’s some interesting places here in town. The first group of photos are of the high school I went to. Lubbock High School was founded in 1891, and moved to this brand new building in 1931. It was built in the Romanesque Revival style. I think it is a beautiful building.

LHS is haunted. This fact has been known for many years. I, myself, experienced weird things, when I attended classes there. People have seen ghostly figures in the bell tower, and heard music coming from empty rooms. There are strange knocking sounds from inside the sealed walls, and I could feel the strangeness while walking in the 3rd floor back hallway. The arches in front are very spooky. You can hear a weeping woman, if you stand in a certain spot under them, and the auditorium and balcony have been the sight of other haunting episodes. There are also several gargoyles on the building.

Some of the past students who went on to become famous were, Buddy Holly, Natalie Maines (of the Dixie Chicks), Ralna English, and Mac Davis, among many other notables.

Here’s the photos I took.

IMG_2754 IMG_2755 IMG_2756 IMG_2757

***

This next one is of an old Victorian style house. It is the Barton house, and is located at the Museum of the Ranching Heritage Center, near the campus of Texas Tech University. It was built in 1909, and has a captain’s walk. This house, along with many others were moved from their original locations, to this outdoor site.

The Barton house is said to be haunted, too. People have seen ghostly figures in the upstairs windows. I’ve been inside (before they stopped letting people in) and it is furnished with actual items from the owners, or similar ones to what would have been used in that day and time.

That’s me peeking in the window of this house (looking for a ghost!) It is my reflection in the mirror inside the house as I was standing outside.

IMG_2758 IMG_2759 IMG_0237

Hope you enjoyed the photos and the history behind the buildings. 🙂

***

Thanks for visiting! Peace }i{

© 2016 BS

 

6 responses »

    • Thanks! The school’s motto is ‘Once a Westerner, always a Westerner’, so I guess those that came to tragic ends while attending there, didn’t want to leave, either. Maybe that’s why they haunt the place. 🙂

  1. Hi Barbara,
    I would like to invite you to my blog party which is going on right now. It goes on through the weekend. It’s a great opportunity to mingle with other awesome bloggers like you. I hope to see you. The party link is titled Summery blog party live link. Regards, Jacqueline

    • Hey, Jacqueline! Sorry, I just now saw the invitation to your party! We were out of town over last weekend, and I’m just catching up with messages. I’m sure everyone had a fabulous time, as your blog parties are the best! 🙂

Leave a Reply

